Cleaning House & Going for Green(er)

So I have recently regained my interest in living a more green and sustainable life.  And I’ve just been feeling the urge to throw everything (and I mean everything) that I haven’t used in the last 6 months, which is most of what I own.

Starting with my bathroom, I purged any product that I bought and it just didn’t work for me, and while I was at that I scrubbed my bathroom.  I’ve been wanting to stop buying traditional cleaning products so I have been slowly going through what I have and replacing them with homemade options.

This deserves its own paragraph.  I cleaned my entire bathroom with castile soap, lemons, rubbing alcohol, and baking soda.  It is as clean, if not cleaner than how I got it using tile cleaner, Windex, bleach, Tilex, and toilet bowl cleaner.  I can’t speak to the bacteria purge, but everything was sparkling and oh so clean.  I used the baking soda as a scouring agent along with a tiny bit of castile soap, wiping it clean with a damp cloth or the shower head.  I followed that with using a half lemon to wipe things down and polish hardware and hard to reach corners.  I used that as my all purpose cleaner for my sink and shower.  For the toilet, I threw in some baking soda and castile soap into the toilet and did a vinegar rinse after scrubbing and flushing.  For the mirror, I squeezed some lemon juice, vinegar, rubbing alcohol, and water into a spray bottle I had in the house.  Guys, I kid you not, my bathroom is hella clean.

So I continued on my merry way, getting rid of clothes, random things from high school, old school projects, etc.  I recycled the papers and other things that I could recycle, then sorted everything into boxes.  I had two small boxes of personal care products, and a larger box of clothes.  I am still unpacking from when I lived on campus last year.  Shameful, I know.

So what did I do with it??

I went to the thrift store for the clothes.  You get a tax rebate coupon and usually a discount for your next shopping trip.  I’ve rediscovered my love for thrift stores, so that came in handy.  (I’ve actually found some great things lately, I may post a haul.)

The personal care products were a little more tricky.  I am a member on my local Facebook Swap and Shops, snapped some photos of the boxes and posted them as a trade (although I was willing to part with them for nothing).  That night a lady posted that she was interested and had some size 1 diapers to trade for the box.  Since my moms just had a baby, it was something that someone in the house could use and it would take them off her hands and the stuff would have a chance to be used before hitting the landfill.  So it was a win-win. 😀

So that’s pretty much what I wanted to put up here.  Nothing exciting, no, but hey if anything helps anyone get any ideas for being sustainable, I’m glad to help.

I’m hoping to start composting soon to cut down on our household food waste.  I’ll keep you updates

Leave a Reply

